Jump to the main content block

Home NKUST  Old page  Chinese   


        With the establishment of the College of Foreign Languages (CFL) in 1997, FIRST TECH became the first university of science and technology to take pride in such an institution. There are three departments in the CFL: English, Japanese, and German.

  The three departments of the CFL set up graduate programs in 2000 and 2001. Additionally, the CFL is the first among national universities of science and technology to offer graduate programs in Japanese and German. In 2003, the Department of English and the Department of Japanese founded a four-year college program; the Department of Japanese also offered an in-service master program. A graduate program in Interpreting and Translation was founded by the Department of English in 2007.

  Our college’s graduates have been favored and respected due to their outstanding academic achievements and good performance in their workplaces. The CFL continues its dedication to the cultivation of students into professionals of various types under the leadership of college deans: Professor Chen Ying-hui, Professor Meng Zhao-chang, Professor Lin Shui-fu, Professor Zhou Zhi-hong, Professor Zhang Jin-tu, Professor Cheng Di-mao, Professor Hong Feng-sheng, Professor Lin Rui-min, Professor Fan Guo-shu, Professor Ye Shu-hua, and vice deans: Professor Shih Chung-ling, Professor Lin Xin-yi. We are proud that our faculty members are experts in the fields of language, information technology, culture studies, business, management and relevant others.